Internship Abroad

“Life begins at the end of your comfort zone,” said author Neale Donald Walsch.

I think we should step forward—don’t just scare of falling or danger. The more we go further, the more amazing experience we will explore. Three years at college I have grown up in media environment. I fascinate to put what I have learnt to sharpen my skills. There is an event that comes to my academic life to strengthen my passion in journalism career. It’s the right place at the right time. I am selected to do my summer internship at a leading media institution in the Philippines. Rappler Inc is a social news network where  information empowers social’s action by giving perspectives from communities to inspire  other people to discuss, engage and take action to problems.

I am proud to work with young potential people in Rappler’s MovePH team and Production team. Doing without setting goal is nothing. I aim to observe how Rappler has become a leading online news institution in the Philippines so that I can learn from its success to apply for my future career.

In addition, I aspire to explore being a journalist in foreign country. By joining Rappler’s newsroom and working in its office, I observe how Rappler runs a newsroom meeting, how a story get published, how it make profit to support their people, and how it becomes an online news icon in the Philippines.

During the two months internship, my friend Chansophea and I go to different places across Metro Manila to cover news event. We talk to real local people from various social classes, to local authority (barangay), local  NGOs, and religious representatives.

In the two months, I accomplish on five news writing (one individual article, and other four stories collaborating with my friend), one video documentary, and social media engagement. The main lessons learnt from the internship are how being a potential person for workplace’s success and how Rappler works.

Two months in Manila seems a night to me. Time flies so fast. Throughout this period I have learnt many new things. I learn  being an independent reporter, being flexible ,and being critical. The experience shapes my fascinated dream career to be a professional journalist.

“If you can dream it, you can do it.” said Walt Disney, co-founder of The Walt Disney, a mass media company. I highly value to the abroad internship program. It gives students a golden chance which it’s more than expected. Two month is not enough to succeed in life, but it is a process to a successful pathway. I need to learn more, especially in production world.

Leave a Reply

